Federal Budget 2026: What It Means for First-Time Homebuyers
Federal Budget 2026 for first-time homebuyers: optional mortgage insurance rises to a $1.5 million price limit with 30-year amortisations, and little new money.
Optional mortgage insurance price limit
$1.5 million
Up from $1 million, with 30-year amortisations
CRA mortgage income verification pilot
$13 million
Over three years from 2027-28
First Home Savings Account administration
$62 million
2027-28 to 2030-31
Foreign buyer ban on existing homes extended to
January 1, 2029
New homes exempted
GST savings on a new home for first-time buyers
$50,000
Maximum, from Budget 2025, unchanged
What This Means for You
- The budget's new money aimed at first-time buyers is $75 million over five years (calculated), and all of it pays the Canada Revenue Agency to run programs.
- The foreign buyer ban on existing homes now runs to January 1, 2029, but it exempts new homes, the one market where your GST rebate applies.
- The optional mortgage insurance change lifts the price limit to $1.5 million, the cap the budget says already applies to insured mortgages, so it mainly helps buyers with large down payments.
For first-time buyers, Budget 2026 is a set of rule changes with little money attached. The help worth the most to you, the GST rebate on new homes, comes from Budget 2025 and is unchanged.
Your Net Position
| Change | Amount | Who in this group | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unchanged: GST rebate on new homes (Budget 2025) | Up to $50,000 a buyer, $3,910 million over five years | First-time buyers of new homes | Agreements signed before 2031 |
| Gain: optional mortgage insurance up to $1.5 million, 30-year amortisation | No cost line | Buyers with larger down payments, first-time or buying new | No effective date given |
| Gain: CRA income verification for mortgages | $13 million over three years, then industry-funded | Mortgage applicants | Pilot from 2027-28 |
| Gain: insured mortgage rates published by the Bank of Canada | No cost line | Anyone shopping for an insured mortgage | Regulations to come |
| Continuing: First Home Savings Account administration | $62 million, 2027-28 to 2030-31 | FHSA holders | From 2027-28 |
| Mixed: foreign buyer ban extended, new homes exempt | No cost line | Resale buyers gain, new-home buyers face more bidders | To January 1, 2029 |
| Re-announced: missing-middle mortgage insurance rules | No cost line | Buyers of units in three- to fifty-unit buildings | February 1, 2027 |
| Under review: homebuilder financing for ownership homes | No money | Young buyers and families | No decision |
The budget states no per-buyer value for any Budget 2026 measure. The $50,000 figure is the existing GST rebate (Budget 2026, Chapter 3).
The $75 million (calculated) is the $62 million for FHSA administration plus the $13 million income verification pilot. Budget 2025 booked $3,910 million over five years for the GST rebate (Budget 2025, Chapter 3). The new money in this budget equals about 2% of that (calculated).
The timing is short. The FHSA administration money is $20 million a year from 2027-28 and falls to less than $0.5 million in 2030-31, shown as a starred zero in the table (Budget 2026, Chapter 3 cost table). The income verification pilot runs three years, after which the government intends industry to fund it. This suggests lenders and insurers, and in time their borrowers, will carry the cost from about 2030-31.
The Measures That Matter to You
| Measure | Amount | When | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|---|
| Optional mortgage insurance limit and 30-year amortisation | No cost | Not stated | More lenders can compete for your mortgage up to $1.5 million |
| Helping Canadians get an affordable mortgage | $13 million | From 2027-28 | Lenders verify your income with the CRA, with your consent |
| Publishing insured mortgage rate information | No cost | Not stated | Bank of Canada data to compare rates |
| Extending the foreign buyer ban | No cost | To January 1, 2029 | Resale homes stay closed to foreign buyers. New homes open |
| Administration of the First Home Savings Account | $62 million | 2027-28 to 2030-31 | Your FHSA keeps running, with no rule change |
| Prepayment penalty transparency | No cost | Consultation | Clearer cost of breaking your mortgage, later |
| Homebuilder financing options | No money | Under review | Possible help building homes for young buyers, undecided |
The optional insurance change needs explaining. Optional mortgage insurance is cover a lender may choose to buy on a mortgage that does not legally need it, because the down payment is large enough. Under current rules, buyers who must insure because their down payment is small can already borrow up to the $1.5 million cap the budget cites (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.2). Under the same rules, first-time buyers in that group can already take 30-year amortisations. The new rule extends both to the larger-down-payment market. The budget says this would encourage competition between lenders. The budget gives no effective date.
Asked For vs. Delivered
The industry got the low-cost mortgage-process asks and none of the tax asks. David Lester, a financial expert, predicted possible FHSA-style programs on CTV News Channel on Nov 2. The only FHSA line is administration. The missing-middle mortgage insurance changes were already in Bill C-31 and the Spring Economic Update 2026. The budget re-announces them with a February 1, 2027 start.
Asks compiled by Stephen Taylor's AI Public Affairs Toolset, September 15 to November 5, 2026.
Who Within This Group Gains or Loses
Buyers with large down payments in high-priced markets gain the most. A home between $1 million and $1.5 million could now carry optional insurance. This suggests the change matters most where entry-level homes cost more than $1 million, chiefly the largest cities. A buyer saving a small down payment gets nothing new from this rule.
Couples gain where one partner has never owned. The 30-year optional insurance applies when at least one borrower is a first-time buyer (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.2). A repeat buyer purchasing a resale home alone gets neither the longer amortisation nor the GST rebate. The gap between first-time and repeat buyers therefore widens.
Buyers of resale homes keep the protection of the foreign buyer ban for two more years. Buyers of new homes lose it once the exemption takes effect. Those are the buyers using the GST rebate. The budget says the exemption will unlock investment in new supply. This suggests it trades some competition for new units against more units being built.
Savers with higher incomes gain the most from the FHSA. The government's own impacts report rates the FHSA administration measure as benefiting a majority of high-income people (Budget 2026, Annex 4). The budget adds nothing aimed at lower-income savers trying to build a down payment.
Ontario buyers of new homes have an extra federal-provincial deal. The budget says the partnership with Ontario is cutting taxes on housing, reducing the cost of a home by up to $200,000 (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.2). That partnership was announced before this budget.
Buyers looking at units in small multi-unit buildings may benefit from the missing-middle rules, which take effect February 1, 2027. Those rules mostly change how builders finance three- and four-unit homes.
Applicants with straightforward employment income should find the CRA verification faster once it runs. The pilot starts in 2027-28, so buyers closing in 2026-27 will not see it. The budget presents it mainly as a fraud deterrent. This suggests applicants whose stated income does not match their tax records will face more scrutiny.
What's Missing
The budget lists the First Home Savings Account and the RRSP Home Buyers' Plan as existing supports and changes neither. Contribution limits and withdrawal rules stay as they are.
Housing, Infrastructure and Communities Canada finished consultations in September on financing homes built for ownership, "particularly for young Canadians and families". The budget reports options under review and no decision.
The housing money goes elsewhere. Section 3.2 of the budget, which covers housing, infrastructure and food supply, costs $16,461 million over five years. Ending homelessness takes $11,224 million of it, and the pillar on a housing market that works for all gets $468 million (Budget 2026, Chapter 3 cost table). That pillar is about 3% of the section (calculated). Its money goes to building productivity, e-permitting and data, which could lower costs over time.
The budget is silent on the mortgage stress test, which the banking regulator sets.
Closing costs get no federal measure. The budget's own division of responsibilities puts land transfer tax with the provinces and development charges with local governments. Published insured rates should help buyers who shop without a broker. The budget gives no date for those regulations.
Key Dates
| Date | What happens | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Now to 2030 | GST rebate on new homes for first-time buyers continues | Covers agreements signed before 2031 |
| February 1, 2027 | Missing-middle mortgage insurance rules take effect | Changes financing for builders of small multi-unit homes |
| 2027-28 | CRA income verification pilot begins | Lenders may ask borrowers for consent to check with the CRA |
| Not stated | Optional insurance limit rises to $1.5 million, 30-year amortisation | Lenders set when they offer the new terms |
| Not stated | Bank of Canada insured rate data | Lets buyers compare offers once published |
| Not stated | Prepayment penalty consultation | Penalty rules could change after the consultation |
| Short order, per the budget | Legislation and regulations for the foreign buyer ban extension | The start date of the new-home exemption is not given |
| January 1, 2029 | Extended foreign buyer ban ends | The budget gives no plan for after that date |