Federal Budget 2026: What It Means for Homeowners
Federal Budget 2026 gives homeowners a heat pump rebate worth more than $2 billion over eight years, announced in October, and mortgage rule changes.
National Heat Pump Rebate Program
$2 billion
more than, over 8 years from 2026-27
Households the heat pump rebate can reach
820,000
up to
Optional mortgage insurance price limit
$1.5 million
up from $1 million
Deposit insurance limit
$250,000
proposed
Earthquake Insurance Facility, net fiscal gain
$154 million
2028-29 to 2030-31
What This Means for You
- The biggest measure for homeowners, a heat pump rebate of more than $2 billion over eight years, was announced on October 8, before the budget was tabled.
- Owners renewing a mortgage get published rate data and a consultation on prepayment penalties, while the budget's own forecast has the 10-year bond yield rising from 3.6% in 2026 to 3.8% in 2027.
- The only homeowner measure that improves the budget balance is the earthquake insurance backstop, a net gain of $154 million over three years funded by levies on insurers.
The budget treats homeowners mainly as a regulatory audience. Six of the 11 measures that affect homeowners have no cost line at all, and the largest one with money was announced a month before the budget.
Your Net Position
| Change | Amount | Who in this group | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| National Heat Pump Rebate Program (announced October 8) | More than $2 billion over 8 years; $1,339 million booked to 2030-31 with the Deep Retrofit renewal | Up to 820,000 households, with more for lower incomes | From 2026-27 |
| Optional mortgage insurance limit raised | $1 million to $1.5 million, plus 30-year amortisations | Buyers of a newly built home or first-time buyers | No date given |
| Deposit insurance limit raised | $250,000, with temporary high-balance coverage after a home sale | Owners holding sale proceeds | No date given |
| Foreign buyer ban on existing homes extended | To January 1, 2029, with new homes exempt | Owners selling resale homes | Legislation to come |
| Canadian Earthquake Insurance Facility | -$154 million (net gain) over 2028-29 to 2030-31; up to $50 billion in emergency funding | Insured owners in earthquake zones | Fiscal impact from 2028-29 |
| Home Accessibility Tax Credit flat amount | $1,000 once per lifetime; $4 million over five years | Seniors and owners eligible for the Disability Tax Credit who renovate | 2027 tax year |
| Single May 15 due date and higher instalment threshold | $230 million and $395 million over five years | Owners paying tax on pension or rental income | 2027 and 2028 tax years |
| Income verification service for mortgages | $13 million over 3 years | Owners refinancing or buying | Pilot from 2027-28 |
A negative figure means offsets or revenue exceed the gross cost, a net gain to the budgetary balance.
The budget gives per-household figures only for heat pumps. It says families that switch from oil, propane or electric resistance heating can save an average of over $1,400 a year (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.1). It gives no per-owner value for any mortgage change.
The heat pump money is spread thin across the horizon. The table books $1,339 million over five years, and only $87 million of it in 2026-27 (Budget 2026, Chapter 3 cost table). That total includes the Deep Retrofit renewal. The rest of the heat pump money falls after 2030-31, outside the planning horizon. The chapter says over seven million households heat with oil, propane, diesel, electric baseboards or outdated furnaces. The program can reach at most about 12% (calculated) of them.
The Measures That Matter to You
| Measure | Amount | When | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heat pump rebate and retrofits | $1,339 million to 2030-31 | 2026-27 | Help replacing oil, propane or baseboard heat, with approvals within 24 hours. |
| Optional mortgage insurance limit and 30-year amortisation | No cost line | No date given | Helps if you buy new, or if a first-time buyer is on the mortgage. |
| Mortgage insurance for missing middle homes | No cost line | February 1, 2027 | Insured financing to build a three- or fourplex, with no rule that you live in it. |
| Published insured mortgage rates | No cost line | No date given | The Bank of Canada will publish insured rates you can compare at renewal. |
| Prepayment penalty consultation | Consultation only | No date given | No change yet to what it costs to break your mortgage. |
| Deposit insurance modernisation | No cost line | No date given | Sale proceeds parked at a bank get extra coverage for a time. |
| Canadian Earthquake Insurance Facility | -$154 million | 2028-29 | Keeps insurers paying claims after a major quake. |
A negative figure means offsets or revenue exceed the gross cost, a net gain to the budgetary balance.
The optional mortgage insurance change has an eligibility catch. Under current rules, a lender may buy this insurance on a mortgage with a large down payment, which can lower its funding cost. The 30-year amortisation applies only when at least one borrower is a first-time buyer or the home is newly built (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.2). An owner moving from one resale home to another, with no first-time buyer on the mortgage, does not get the 30-year amortisation.
Asked For vs. Delivered
Asks compiled by Stephen Taylor's AI Public Affairs Toolset, September 15 to November 5, 2026.
The budget delivered the asks that cost little or were already announced. It turned down the two tax asks that would have sent money to owners broadly. The Conservative ask tied spending to mortgage costs. The budget projects a deficit of $62.3 billion in 2026-27 (Budget 2026, Annex 1, Table A1.8).
Who Within This Group Gains or Loses
Owners who heat with oil, propane or electric baseboards gain the most. They are the target of the heat pump rebate, and lower-income households get more support (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.1). The budget's impact assessment rates the retrofit measure as somewhat progressive and majority men (Budget 2026, Annex 4). Owners with a newer furnace get little.
Owners renewing a mortgage get almost nothing that changes their payment. The Bank of Canada raised its policy rate to 2.5% on October 28, 2026 (Budget 2026, Economic and Fiscal Overview). The budget's planning assumptions have the three-month treasury bill rising from 2.3% in 2026 to 2.6% in 2027 (Budget 2026, Annex 1, Table A1.2). If those assumptions hold, then owners renewing in 2027 face higher borrowing costs than in 2026. Published rate data and a prepayment penalty consultation help you shop. They do not lower the rate.
Owners buying a newly built home gain on two fronts. The higher $1.5 million limit and 30-year amortisation both apply. The foreign buyer ban also no longer covers new homes, so you may compete with non-Canadian buyers for them.
Owners selling a resale home face the reverse. Non-Canadians stay barred from buying existing homes until January 1, 2029 (Budget 2026, Annex 3). Sellers who park proceeds at a bank get temporary high-balance deposit insurance coverage for life events like a home sale (Budget 2026, Chapter 1, s. 1.5).
Owners who want to add units to their lot gain from the missing middle changes. A new three- or four-unit building can get insured construction financing for up to 90% of its value, with no maximum property value and no owner-occupancy rule (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.2). This matters most where municipal zoning already allows fourplexes.
Owners in southwestern British Columbia and between Ottawa and Québec City face the highest earthquake risk, according to the budget (Budget 2026, Chapter 5, s. 5.4). The facility keeps insurers paying claims after an extreme quake. It is financed by levies on insurers. If insurers pass those levies through, then premiums in those regions would carry the cost.
Older owners and owners with disabilities who renovate get a $1,000 once-in-a-lifetime flat claim on the Home Accessibility Tax Credit. The $20,000 annual expense limit is unchanged (Tax Measures: Supplementary Information). Owners with a rental suite or pension income may stop paying tax instalments when the threshold rises to $7,500 from the 2028 tax year.
What's Missing
The budget is silent on any change to how much existing owners pay to borrow, including the mortgage stress test and insured mortgage rates. The Spring Economic Update 2026 said the government was exploring mortgage products used in other G7 countries (Spring Economic Update 2026, Chapter 2, s. 2.3). The budget's mortgage changes are smaller.
The budget makes no decision on new financing for homes built for ownership. The Spring Economic Update 2026 promised consultations, which ended in September, and the budget says options are still being explored (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.2).
The budget is silent on what follows Ontario's HST relief on new homes, which the federal government supports. It covers purchase agreements signed between April 1, 2026, and March 31, 2027 (Spring Economic Update 2026, Chapter 2, s. 2.3).
The budget is silent on flood insurance. Its only new flood measure is $3 million in 2027-28 for the Flood Risk Finder (Budget 2026, Chapter 5 cost table). A $20 million British Columbia flood mitigation item is paid from existing resources (Annex 1, Table A1.19).
The budget gives no effective date for the deposit insurance changes or the optional mortgage insurance changes. It gives no launch date for heat pump rebate applications.
Key Dates
| Date | What happens | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Not stated | National Heat Pump Rebate Program opens | Aimed at homes heated with oil, propane or baseboards. The budget gives no launch date. |
| February 1, 2027 | Missing middle mortgage insurance rules take effect | Opens insured construction financing for fourplexes. |
| 2027 tax year | Home Accessibility Tax Credit flat amount becomes available | The flat $1,000 claim still requires an eligible renovation. |
| 2027-28 | CRA income verification pilot is funded | No action needed. |
| May 15, 2028 | Single filing and payment date for 2027 returns | The deadline moves to May 15. |
| 2028 tax year | Instalment threshold rises to $7,500 | Taxpayers under the threshold no longer pay instalments. |
| 2028-29 | Earthquake facility affects the fiscal framework | Premiums may change at renewal. |
| January 1, 2029 | Extended foreign buyer ban on existing homes ends | Legislation to extend it is still to come. |
| Not stated | Prepayment penalty consultation, deposit insurance and optional insurance changes | The budget gives no dates. |