Federal Budget 2026: What It Means for Parents of Young Children
Federal Budget 2026 for parents of young children: a $5.4 billion child care top-up that ends after 2027-28, and no new Canada Child Benefit measure.
Child care top-up to provinces and territories
$5.4 billion over two years
Announced June 2026; covers 2026-27 and 2027-28 only
Canada-wide child care transfers, 2028-29
$8.2 billion
Down from $11.0 billion in 2027-28 as the top-up ends
Grocery benefit supplement per child
up to $117
One-time payment in early 2027; up to $679 for a couple with two children
Canada Child Benefit payments, 2026-27
$31.2 billion
Up 3.6% on indexation; no new Canada Child Benefit measure
What This Means for You
- The only new federal money for child care is a two-year bridge: transfers fall from $11.0 billion in 2027-28 to $8.2 billion in 2028-29, the same amount the Spring Economic Update projected before the top-up existed (Budget 2026, Annex 1, Table A1.10).
- The Canada Child Benefit, the largest federal payment to parents, gets no new measure: payments reach $31.2 billion in 2026-27, largely through inflation indexation (Budget 2026, Annex 1).
- The largest measure for young children that was not announced before tabling goes to Indigenous children: $5,253 million net over five years for Jordan's Principle, the Inuit Child First Initiative and child welfare law (Budget 2026, Chapter 4, s. 4.3).
For most parents of young children, this budget holds child care funding steady for two years and adds a one-time grocery payment if your income is low or modest. It makes no decision about child care funding after 2027-28.
Your Net Position
| Change | Amount | Who in this group | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Re-announced: child care top-up | $5.4 billion over two years | Parents using regulated child care | 2026-27 and 2027-28 |
| Expires: top-up ends | Transfers fall from $11.0 billion to $8.2 billion | Same parents, through provincial systems | 2028-29 |
| Gain: 2027 grocery benefit supplement | Up to $117 per child and $223 per adult | Lower- and modest-income parents | Early 2027 |
| Gain: refundable Canada Caregiver Credit | Up to $394 for an infirm child under 18 | Parents of a child with a disability who owe little tax | 2027 tax year |
| Gain: optional flat adoption claim | $1,200 per child | About 1,700 adoptive parents | 2027 tax year |
| No change: Canada Child Benefit | Lump-sum threshold rises from $20 to $50 a month | Families entitled to small amounts | Benefits paid after June 2027 |
The budget does not state a per-family value for the child care top-up, which flows to provinces and territories. The chapter credits the system with fee savings of up to $11,255 per child a year, a figure for the whole program since 2021 (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.1).
The top-up is also later than its headline. After an indented realignment line, the table books $1,675 million in 2026-27, $3,046 million in 2027-28 and the last $695 million in 2030-31 (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, cost table). Less than a third of the money arrives in the current year (calculated).
Single parents do better than couples on the grocery supplement. A single parent's first child counts at the adult amount, and single parents also get the single supplement (Tax Measures: Supplementary Information, 2027 Canada Groceries and Essentials Benefit Supplement). For a single parent with one child, that works out to about $560 (calculated), close to what a couple with one child receives.
The Measures That Matter to You
| Measure | Amount | When | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|---|
| Securing the future of a Canada-wide early learning and child care system | $5,416 million over two years | 2026-27 and 2027-28 | Funds provinces to keep fees down for two years |
| Providing more help with groceries and everyday essentials | $4,055 million in 2026-27 for the supplement | Early 2027 | Up to $117 more per child, once |
| Supporting Indigenous children and families | $5,253 million net over five years | From 2026-27 | Jordan's Principle and Inuit child supports renewed |
| Making online spaces safe for everyone | $177 million net over five years | Bill C-34 before Parliament | A regulator to enforce a Duty to Protect Children |
| Making the Canada Caregiver Credit refundable | $845 million over four years | 2027 tax year | Cash for caring for an infirm child |
| Lump-sum thresholds for periodic payment of benefits | No cost stated | After June 2027 | Small CCB amounts paid once a year |
| Supporting the Canadian Centre for Child Protection | $8 million over three years | From 2027-28 | Keeps Cybertip.ca funded |
The grocery supplement is calculated from your 2025 tax return, so you must have filed. Parents with shared custody receive half of the child amount (Notice of Ways and Means Motion, 2027 Canada Groceries and Essentials Benefit Supplement). The child care money reaches you only through your province's fees and spaces. Ontario has a four-year extension worth nearly $12 billion from March 31, 2027, to March 31, 2031, and the budget names no other province's extension (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.1).
Asked For vs. Delivered
Asks compiled by Stephen Taylor's AI Public Affairs Toolset, September 15 to November 5, 2026.
The pre-budget record holds one ask for this group, and it was general. The child care money the budget books was announced in June 2026, so the budget answers the ask with a decision already made.
Who Within This Group Gains or Loses
Ontario parents have the clearest picture. Their province's federal child care money is set to March 31, 2031. Parents in other provinces know their top-up ends after 2027-28. Annex 1 adds that bilateral agreements get a temporary 3% funding increase for four years beginning in 2027-28, without saying what it is worth.
Parents still waiting for a licensed space get no new space funding. Annex 1 says the Early Learning and Child Care Infrastructure Fund phases out in 2026-27. The chapter cites more than 250,000 new spaces that governments have announced, but no new federal money to build them (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.1).
Mothers are the main group the government expects to benefit from the child care top-up. Annex 4 rates it "majority women," and the chapter notes that labour force participation among mothers aged 25 to 54 with young children reached almost 80% in 2025 (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.1, and Annex 4).
Lower-income parents gain the grocery supplement and a larger Build Canada Workers Benefit, with a family maximum of $3,143 for 2027. They lose the advance workers benefit payments, halved from July 2027 and ended from 2028. See the families page for the net effect.
Parents of a child with a disability who owe little tax can claim the caregiver credit as cash from 2027. The credit for an infirm child under 18 has no income test on the child.
First Nations and Inuit parents get the largest new money aimed at young children. Jordan's Principle receives $6 billion over six years, and the Inuit Child First Initiative gets $575 million over five years as it moves to Pirutsiagutiit (Budget 2026, Chapter 4, s. 4.3).
Parents of children online get a regulator. Canadian Heritage receives $176.3 million over five years and $29.3 million ongoing for the Digital Safety and Data Protection Commission, which would enforce Bill C-34's Duty to Protect Children on social media and AI chatbot services (Budget 2026, Chapter 5, s. 5.2). The table recovers $29 million of the cost in 2030-31, which suggests regulated platforms will pay part of it from that year. Cybertip.ca, run by the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, received over 28,000 reports in 2025 and keeps its federal funding for three more years.
Adoptive parents can claim a flat $1,200 per child in the year the adoption is completed instead of tracking receipts. The chapter expects about 1,700 people to use it (Budget 2026, Chapter 6, s. 6.1).
What's Missing
The budget is silent on the Canada Child Benefit amounts. Payments grow with inflation, to $35.7 billion in 2030-31 (Budget 2026, Annex 1, Table A1.10). The Budget in Brief prints the same $15,040 maximum for a family of four with children up to age 12 that the Spring Economic Update printed.
The budget makes no decision on child care after 2027-28. The cost table prints dashes for 2028-29 onward, which the budget uses to mean a further extension will be considered later. The child care line for 2028-29 and 2029-30 is identical to the spring forecast.
The budget contains no measure on parental leave or Employment Insurance parental benefits. The National School Food Program appears only as an action already taken, with no new money.
Key Dates
| Date | What happens | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| January 2027 | Grocery benefit supplement paid, based on 2025 income | Depends on a filed 2025 return |
| March 31, 2027 | Ontario's four-year child care extension begins | Ontario parents: no action needed |
| July 2027 | Higher CCB lump-sum threshold applies to benefits paid after June 2027 | Families with a CCB under $50 a month get one July payment |
| 2027 tax year | Refundable caregiver credit and $1,200 flat adoption claim | Claimed on the 2027 return, filed in 2028 |
| End of 2027-28 | Child care top-up ends | Provinces set fees for 2028-29 |
| Not stated | Bill C-34 passage and the start of the Digital Safety and Data Protection Commission | The budget gives no date |
The budget gives no date for the Budget Implementation Act that would enact the tax changes.