medium confidencethe-north

Federal Budget 2026: What It Means for The North

Federal Budget 2026 for the North: $3.1 billion to fully fund the Mackenzie Valley Highway and $1.6 billion for northern power, but no dollars for Grays Bay.

ShareXLinkedIn

Mackenzie Valley Highway

$3.1 billion

Over five years, $38 million of it in 2026-27

Northern energy reliability

$1.6 billion

Over 10 years, starting in 2027-28

Nutrition North Canada

$610.3 million

Over four years from 2027-28, then $117 million ongoing

Territorial Formula Financing, 2026-27

$5.8 billion

Rising to $7.2 billion in 2030-31

Northern Residents Deductions

$99 million

Over four years from 2027-28, $26 million ongoing

What This Means for The North

  1. The Mackenzie Valley Highway's $3.1 billion is about 93% (calculated) of the $3,331 million (calculated) in new cost-table rows naming only the North, and two-thirds comes in the last two years (calculated).
  2. The budget fully funds the Mackenzie Valley Highway but gives Nunavut's Grays Bay Road and Port, also up for national-interest status, no federal dollar figure despite crediting it with 572 construction jobs a year.
  3. Nutrition North Canada's money falls from $158 million in 2030-31 to $118.1 million in 2031-32, about 25% less (calculated), so the higher level lasts four years.

Bottom line. This is a road budget for the Northwest Territories and a power budget for Yukon, while Nunavut's largest projects stay on the list without money. Almost every northern line starts in 2027-28 or later, so 2026-27 looks much as the Spring Economic Update left it.

The Region's Net Position

The North-only rows in the cost tables add up to $3,331 million (calculated) over five years. Only the highway's $38 million is booked in 2026-27. The two larger northern envelopes, for electricity and Nutrition North, sit inside national rows and also start in 2027-28. Amounts are in millions of dollars over 2026-27 to 2030-31 unless noted.

Item Amount Regional share stated? Source
Mackenzie Valley Highway, full construction and certain maintenance $3,100 million, rising from $38 million in 2026-27 to $1,030 million in 2030-31 Yes, all in the Northwest Territories Chapter 2, s. 2.1
Energy reliability in the North, inside Powering Canada Strong $1.6 billion over 10 years from 2027-28 ($713.8 million off-diesel, $929.1 million for aging infrastructure) Yes, but the five-year portion is not stated Chapter 1, s. 1.2
Nutrition North Canada, inside the groceries row $610.3 million over four years from 2027-28, $118.1 million in 2031-32, $117 million ongoing Yes Chapter 3, s. 3.1
Northern Residents Deductions $99 million over four years in forgone revenue, $26 million ongoing No, the zones also cover parts of provinces Chapter 6, s. 6.1
Polar Knowledge Canada, Canadian High Arctic Research Station $105 million net ($250 million gross less $145 million from existing resources) Yes Chapter 1, Additional investments
CanNor renewal, IDEANorth and Northern Indigenous Economic Opportunities Program $71 million over four years Yes Chapter 1, Additional investments
GeoNorth geoscience mapping $34 million Yes Chapter 1, Additional investments
Arctic offshore oil and gas governance $11 million Yes Chapter 1, Additional investments
Dechinta Centre for Research and Learning $10 million Yes, Northwest Territories Chapter 4, Additional investments
Major projects management entity, which also begins support for Taltson $187.4 million over five years No, Taltson's share not stated Chapter 2, s. 2.1
Inuit Child First Initiative renewal and move to Pirutsiagutiit $575 million over five years from 2027-28 No, covers Inuit across Canada Chapter 4, s. 4.3
Mental health and home care agreements, one-year extension $1,200 million in 2027-28, all provinces and territories No Chapter 3
Canadian Coast Guard Program Icebreaker Ships † -$31 million No, ships built in Québec Annex 1, Table A1.19
Expenditure review savings Not broken out by organization No Chapter 6
Territorial Formula Financing $5.8 billion in 2026-27 to $7.2 billion in 2030-31, all three territories Total only, per-territory amounts published separately Annex 1, Table A1.10

† Earlier decision booked in Budget 2026, Annex 1 policy-actions table, not a new Budget 2026 measure.

Follow Stephen Taylor’s newsletter for federal budget intelligence and policy signals.

A negative figure means offsets or revenue exceed the gross cost, a net gain to the budgetary balance.

Territorial Formula Financing is the main federal transfer to the three territorial governments. It rises by $1.4 billion (calculated) over the horizon. Annex 1 projects average growth of 5.5% a year, nearly twice (calculated) the 2.9% for all major transfers to provinces, territories and municipalities. Annex 1 says the TFF forecast is higher than in the Spring Economic Update, mainly because of population growth. Under the current program the territories do not receive Equalization, so the $27.2 billion Equalization line does not reach them. The 2027-28 TFF amounts will be finalised in December 2026 (Budget 2026, Annex 1, Table A1.10).

Several northern lines replace one-year bridges. The Spring Economic Update gave Polar Knowledge Canada $4 million and the Dechinta Centre $3 million for 2026-27 only (Spring Economic Update 2026, Annex 1, Table A1.15). Budget 2026 picks both up from 2027-28, and it describes the CanNor money as a renewal. This suggests much of the North's dedicated money keeps existing programs running. The budget does not give their earlier funding levels, so growth cannot be checked. Polar Knowledge also covers 58% (calculated) of its $250 million gross from its own existing resources.

The budget's impacts report rates the two northern cost-of-living measures at opposite ends. It calls Nutrition North "Strongly progressive" because its benefits go mainly to low-income people. It rates the Northern Residents Deductions changes "Somewhat regressive" because most of the benefit goes to high-income people (Budget 2026, Annex 4, Table A4.1). For details see the tax measures analysis.

The budget does not break down expenditure review savings by organization. The effect on CanNor, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada or federal offices in the territories cannot be identified from it.

Named Measures and Projects

Measure or project Where Amount Source
Mackenzie Valley Highway. An ~800 km all-season gravel road with year-round access for nearly 2,000 residents and a 1,200 km shorter route to Yellowknife for the Beaufort Delta. Wrigley to the Dempster Highway south of Inuvik, NWT $3,100 million over five years Chapter 2, s. 2.1, Figure 2.6
Taltson Hydro Expansion. Support begins inside the new major projects management entity. Northwest Territories Share of $187.4 million not stated Chapter 2, s. 2.1
Grays Bay Road and Port. A 230 km road to a deep-water port and airstrip, led by an Inuit-owned company. Construction targeted for late 2029. Kitikmeot region, Nunavut No federal amount Chapter 2, Figure 2.7
Arctic Economic and Security Corridor, Iqaluit Nukkiksautiit Hydro Project, Northwest Critical Conservation Corridor. Referred to the Major Projects Office. NWT, Iqaluit, and listed under Yukon No amount Chapter 2, Figure 2.8
Mayo Hydro Facility and Atlin Hydro Expansion. Mayo protects 15 megawatts. Atlin could add eight megawatts and 31 gigawatt hours each winter, the annual use of about 2,500 Yukon homes. Yukon, with Atlin power from northern B.C. Within the $1.6 billion over 10 years Chapter 1, s. 1.2, Figure 1.5
Off-diesel transition. Renewable projects for Indigenous, rural and remote communities. North $713.8 million over 10 years Chapter 1, s. 1.2
Nutrition North Canada. Lower costs for imported food and support for local harvesting. Remote northern communities $610.3 million over four years Chapter 3, s. 3.1
Canadian High Arctic Research Station. Station investments and science operations. Cambridge Bay, Nunavut $105 million net Chapter 1, Additional investments
Dechinta Centre for Research and Learning. Land-based post-secondary programs for Indigenous students. Northwest Territories $10 million Chapter 4, Additional investments
Up to three Northern National Marine Conservation Areas. Feasibility assessments only. North $19.7 million (calculated) over four years Chapter 4, s. 4.1
560 homes with Housing Northwest Territories. A Build Canada Homes example. Yellowknife Not given in the text Chapter 3, Figure 3.5
Kwanlin Dün First Nation settlement lands. Roads, water and utilities for more than 380 homes, existing repayable Canada Infrastructure Bank financing. Whitehorse $19.8 million Chapter 3, s. 3.2
Trucked and utilidor water and sewer upgrades. A past Build Communities Strong Fund commitment, enabling 2,000 to 2,500 homes by 2031. Iqaluit Not given Chapter 3, s. 3.2
Kipsigak Arena Replacement, Fort Good Hope Arena Rehabilitation, Whitehorse Power Centres Project. Build Communities Strong Fund projects. Igloolik, Fort Good Hope, Whitehorse Not given Chapter 3, s. 3.2
Forward operating location upgrades and Arctic airports. Yellowknife, Inuvik, Iqaluit, plus Rankin Inlet and Inuvik airports Not given Chapter 5, Figure 5.1
Regional Tariff Response Initiative grants. Cobalt Construction for 3D grade control, Nunavut Fisheries Association for seafood export research. Yukon, Nunavut $389,285 and $933,586 Chapter 2, s. 2.3, Figure 2.11
Common cannabis excise stamp. Yukon and the Northwest Territories are in. Nunavut is invited to join by January 31, 2027. Three territories No cost stated Chapter 6, s. 6.1
Clean Electricity credit for transmission inside a territory. Lines built at 69 kV or more qualify in the territories, the lowest threshold in the country. Three territories Part of $2,420 million national Tax Measures: Supplementary Information

Every northern defence site in Figure 5.1 was already named in the Spring Economic Update 2026. That update listed the same forward operating location upgrades and said the $1 billion Arctic Infrastructure Fund from Budget 2025 would modernise the Rankin Inlet and Inuvik airports.

Sector Exposure

Mining and critical minerals. The Mineral Exploration Tax Credit and Critical Mineral Exploration Tax Credit now run to March 31, 2032, at a national cost of $956 million over five years. Both were due to expire on March 31, 2027. For northern explorers that raise money through flow-through shares, this removes a near-term deadline. GeoNorth's $34 million renews public geoscience for the territories. The mineral corridor itself, Grays Bay, gets no federal figure. See the critical minerals analysis.

Transportation and infrastructure. The highway is the largest northern line. Annex 1 Table A1.20 files it under "Transportation, trade, energy, and northern infrastructure." Budget 2026 adds nothing to the Arctic Infrastructure Fund, which Budget 2025 set at four years starting in 2025-26. A plan to use airport concession proceeds for routes and smaller airports in northern communities has no amount or date. See the infrastructure analysis.

Electricity. The northern energy money is the region's second-largest envelope. Spread over 10 years, it averages about $164 million a year (calculated). Taltson and the Iqaluit hydro project remain on the Major Projects Office list without stated amounts. See the electricity analysis.

Defence and sovereignty. The defence chapter's section on northern and Arctic readiness names two transport projects, the highway and Grays Bay, as its northern infrastructure investments. The ship work sits elsewhere. Chantier Davie in Québec will build six program icebreakers, with nearly 5,000 construction jobs, and the polar icebreakers are listed for British Columbia and Québec. The budget counts "critical infrastructure in the Arctic and northern regions" toward NATO's 1.5% defence- and security-related target. This suggests the highway could be reported to NATO as defence-related spending. See the defence industry analysis.

Fisheries and conservation. Northern marine conservation gets feasibility money for up to three areas and an open-ended plan to explore Project Finance for Permanence deals in the Arctic. The only northern fishing item is the Nunavut Fisheries Association grant. See the fisheries analysis.

Indigenous economy and services. CanNor's renewal is the region's main business-development money. The Non-Insured Health Benefits Program for First Nations and Inuit gets $2.9 billion over three years from 2027-28, so that funding ends inside the horizon. At least 10% of Build Canada Homes' expanded envelope is reserved for Indigenous housing on a distinctions-based formula. See the Indigenous economy analysis and the Inuit page.

The budget does not describe U.S. tariff exposure for northern exports.

Asked For vs. Delivered

2 asks: 1 delivered 1 not in this budget
Invest in energy systems for remote and Northern communities
Pembina Institute, Hill Times, Nov 4
The North gets $1.6 billion over 10 years, starting in 2027-28.
Powering Canada Strong
Delivered
Expected: budget restates or adds to $50 million for Inuit Nunangat University
Government of Canada, Hill Times, Sep 30
The university is not mentioned.
Not in this budget

The pre-budget record for the North holds two items. The energy ask got money that matches its subject, though none of it flows in 2026-27. Budget 2025 listed Inuit Nunangat University among Build Communities Strong Fund projects, and Budget 2026 neither restates nor adds to that commitment.

Asks compiled by Stephen Taylor's AI Public Affairs Toolset, September 15 to November 5, 2026.

Federal-Provincial Friction Points

Resource revenue in the TFF formula. The Spring Economic Update made a one-time $2 million ex gratia payment to the Government of the Northwest Territories. It covered TFF reductions tied to resource revenues that were "previously reported but not realized" (Spring Economic Update 2026, Chapter 2). Budget 2026 does not change how the formula treats resource revenue. The territories could raise it before the December 2026 finalisation.

Counting territorial spending toward NATO. Ottawa already counts other governments' spending toward its 1.5% pledge. Provincial and territorial spending was "assessed through publicly available planned spending data and the identification of potential inclusions against NATO criteria." It will work with provinces and territories in 2026-27 to refine the process (Budget 2026, Chapter 5, s. 5.1).

Health care money for one year. The $1.2 billion extension of the mental health and home care agreements runs to March 31, 2028. The budget calls it relief that creates "the conditions for a structured dialogue on the long-term productivity and sustainability of health care systems" (Budget 2026, Chapter 3). The health agreements line then falls from $4.3 billion to $2.5 billion in 2028-29 (Annex 1, Table A1.10).

Housing operations. The budget says "provinces and territories will be expected to fund wraparound services and operations" for the housing Ottawa helps build (Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.2). For territorial governments that rely heavily on TFF, this suggests new federal housing capital comes with operating costs the territories must find.

Highway maintenance. Ottawa funds "construction and certain maintenance costs" of the Mackenzie Valley Highway. The budget does not say which maintenance costs stay with the Government of the Northwest Territories, which the Spring Economic Update listed as the proponent.

What's Missing

The budget is silent on the Nunavut Housing Corporation partnership for over 700 units that Budget 2025 announced. Figure 3.5's only northern housing example is in Yellowknife.

The budget is silent on new money for the Arctic Infrastructure Fund. On Budget 2025's four-year profile, its last year is 2028-29.

The budget is silent on what Nutrition North reform means. The Spring Economic Update promised reforms co-developed with Inuit and Northern Indigenous partners. The impacts report labels this line "Nutrition North Canada reform." The chapter itself describes only funding to "maintain and enhance" the program.

The budget is silent on dollar amounts for any northern defence site, for the Over-the-Horizon Radar, and for the GlobalEye aircraft, which are still under a non-binding term sheet.

The budget is silent on climate adaptation money for northern communities. It says the Arctic is warming nearly three times faster than the global average and that winter roads are increasingly unreliable, yet the highway is the only measure tied to that problem.

What to Watch

  • December 2026. The 2027-28 Canada Health Transfer, Equalization and TFF amounts are finalised.
  • Budget Implementation Act. Annex 3 lists provisions for the funding and governance of the major projects management entity that carries the highway and Taltson.
  • Building Canada Act listings. Whether the Mackenzie Valley Highway and Grays Bay Road and Port become projects of national interest.
  • January 31, 2027. Nunavut's deadline to opt into the common cannabis excise stamp.
  • 2027 tax year. The simpler Northern Residents Deductions first apply to 2027 returns.
  • 2027-28. The northern electricity, Nutrition North, CanNor, Polar Knowledge and Dechinta funding begins.
  • Spring Economic Update 2027. Bilateral housing agreements with the territories are to be realigned before it.
  • March 31, 2028. The one-year health agreements extension ends.
  • Late 2029. Targeted construction start for Grays Bay Road and Port. The route can still change after the feasibility study and the Nunavut Impact Review Board's conclusions.
  • 2031-32. Nutrition North funding steps down to $118.1 million.

Sources

  • 1.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Chapter 1, s. 1.2 and Additional investments
  • 2.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Chapter 2, s. 2.1 (Figures 2.6, 2.7 and 2.8) and s. 2.3 (Figure 2.11)
  • 3.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Chapter 3, s. 3.1 and s. 3.2 (Figure 3.5)
  • 4.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Chapter 4, s. 4.1, s. 4.3 and Additional investments
  • 5.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Chapter 5, s. 5.1 (Figure 5.1)
  • 6.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Chapter 6, s. 6.1 and s. 6.3
  • 7.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Annex 1, Tables A1.10, A1.19 and A1.20
  • 8.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Annex 3
  • 9.Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Annex 4, Table A4.1
  • 10.Tax Measures: Supplementary Information, Personal and Business Income Tax Measures
  • 11.Spring Economic Update 2026, Chapter 1, Chapter 2 and Annex 1, Table A1.15
  • 12.Budget 2025: Canada Strong, Chapters 1, 2 and 3

Related Analysis