Federal Budget 2026: What It Means for Pipelines & Energy Infrastructure
Federal Budget 2026 for pipelines and energy infrastructure: Pacific Link and a 15% Trans Mountain stake offer, with $1 million in the fiscal plan between them.
Trans Mountain ownership offered to Indigenous groups
15%
Offered to 128 groups in September 2026; price not stated
Pacific Link capacity
one million barrels per day
1,250 km; listed as a project of national interest October 1, 2026
Coastal marine safety as traffic grows
$740 million over four years
Starting 2027-28
Indigenous Loan Guarantee Program
$10 billion
Moving into the Canada Infrastructure Bank
Interest deductibility limits, five-year cost
$555 million
$235 million in 2026-27; regulated utility exception widened
What This Budget Means for Pipelines & Energy Infrastructure
- The budget's two biggest pipeline decisions, the Pacific Link listing and the offer of 15 per cent of Trans Mountain, carry $1 million in the five-year fiscal plan, the Finance cost of running the Trans Mountain sale.
- The largest dollar figure tied to West Coast energy traffic is $740 million for coastal marine safety, about 4.6 times (calculated) the $160 million booked for Woodfibre LNG.
- Intra-provincial transmission now earns the Clean Electricity credit, but the only transmission-specific dollar figure in the budget is $37 million for intertie studies in a single year, 2027-28.
The budget is mildly positive for builders and owners of energy infrastructure. It speeds approvals and widens Indigenous equity. Ottawa's role is mostly regulator and seller, with little new capital.
The Net Position
| Item | 5-year amount ($M) | What it is |
|---|---|---|
| Earlier policy actions (†) | 161 (calculated) | Woodfibre LNG 160 net and Trans Mountain Indigenous participation 1 |
| Coastal marine safety, part of Investing in our oceans | 740 | Four years from 2027-28, within a $1,186 million net measure |
| Interest deductibility limits | 555 | Wider exception for regulated energy utilities and rental housing, unsplit |
| Clean Electricity credit for intra-provincial transmission | not split | Inside the $2,420 million credit cost in Powering Canada Strong |
| Intertie cost-benefit analysis | 37 | 2027-28 only, inside Powering Canada Strong |
| Major Projects Management Entity | 187 | New project delivery body, from 2026-27 |
| Major Projects Office resources | 121 | 2026-27 and 2027-28 only |
| Pacific Link, Trans Mountain stake, fifth Indigenous loan guarantee | no cost line | Listing, asset sale and a loan guarantee |
| Expenditure review cuts to the Canada Energy Regulator | not printed | No department-level cut table in Budget 2026 |
The sector's federal money is mostly support around projects. The marine safety, project office and management entity lines pay for reviews, oversight and coordination. The only capital going to a specific energy asset is the $160 million for Woodfibre LNG, an earlier decision (Budget 2026: Masters of Our Destiny, Annex 1, Table A1.19). The Major Projects Office line ends after 2027-28, two years into the plan. The Trans Mountain sale, if completed, brings cash into the federal accounts. The budget does not give a price or a timeline for it.
The Measures
| Measure | Net 5-year cost ($M) | Start | What it means for the sector |
|---|---|---|---|
| Investing in our oceans* | 1,186 | 2026-27 | $740 million for marine safety as traffic grows. Fisheries page |
| Interest deductibility limits | 555 | Retroactive to 2023 | Utility borrowing through affiliates qualifies. Tax measures |
| Moving major projects forward faster — Major Projects Management Entity | 187 | 2026-27 | Delivery help for approved projects. Infrastructure page |
| Support for Woodfibre LNG*† | 160 | 2026-27 | Federal capital for an LNG terminal. Oil and gas page |
| Major Projects Office resources* | 121 | 2026-27 | Listing and consultation work. Public service page |
| Implementing Indigenous Economic Participation in Trans Mountain† | 1 | 2028-29 | Finance cost of the stake sale |
| Indigenous ownership stake in Trans Mountain Corporation (and Pacific Link) | no cost line | September 2026 offer | 15 per cent offered to 128 groups |
| Pacific Link pipeline and Pathways Project | no cost line | Listed October 1, 2026 | National-interest track. Oil and gas page |
| Powering Canada Strong* (transmission component) | not split | November 5, 2026 | Clean Electricity credit for high-voltage lines. Electricity page |
| Canada Infrastructure Bank moved to Finance; Indigenous Loan Guarantee Program consolidated in the CIB | no cost line | Not stated | One lender for Indigenous equity. Crown corporations |
* Includes funding classified as a capital investment. † Earlier decision booked in Budget 2026, Annex 1 policy-actions table, not a new Budget 2026 measure.
Trans Mountain stake. In September 2026 the government offered 128 Indigenous groups in British Columbia and Alberta a collective 15 per cent share in Trans Mountain Corporation (Chapter 2, s. 2.1, and Chapter 4, s. 4.3). It says it remains committed to a similar offer for Pacific Link, where the listing promises at least 10 per cent. The only cost line is $1 million in 2028-29 for the Department of Finance to implement the participation (Annex 1, Table A1.19). The budget does not state the valuation, how buyers would finance the stake, or whether the fifth Indigenous loan guarantee now under negotiation, for an unnamed oil and gas project, is connected.
Approvals. Under Bill C-39 the Canada Energy Regulator would lead reviews of pipelines, transmission lines and offshore energy projects. Regional assessments would set up Corridors of National Interest for energy and other uses, and limited early work could start before a final decision (Chapter 6, s. 6.2). Pacific Link's route largely follows existing Trans Mountain right of way, which fits that corridor model (Chapter 2, s. 2.1).
Tax treatment. The Productivity Mega Deduction excludes "regulated natural gas distribution pipelines" (Chapter 1, s. 1.1). The same budget widens the interest deductibility exception for regulated energy utilities to cover affiliated-group borrowing and prices set through government-operated markets (Tax Measures: Supplementary Information, Business Income Tax Measures).
Asked For vs. Delivered


Business asks for speed got the clearest answer, though the core reform, Bill C-39, was introduced in September and is re-announced here. Asks to restrain or condition fossil fuel support did not shape the budget. A CBC reporter expected specifics, dollars and timelines for the major projects. The budget gives routes, capacities and job estimates for Pacific Link, and full federal funding for the Mackenzie Valley Highway, but no capital plan or in-service dates for the energy projects.
Asks compiled by Stephen Taylor's AI Public Affairs Toolset, September 15 to November 5, 2026.
Who Wins and Who Loses
Indigenous groups along the Trans Mountain and Pacific Link corridors gain equity offers backed by a $10 billion guarantee program. Annex 3 also lets the First Nations Finance Authority lend to Indigenous-owned special purpose vehicles, the usual holding structure for such stakes. Crude shippers and Alberta producers gain if Pacific Link is built, since the budget says it would narrow the discount on Canadian oil.
Transmission owners gain the new credit for lines built at each province's highest transmission voltage, and distribution equipment stays outside it. Gas distribution utilities lose access to immediate expensing but gain from the wider interest exception. Port and marine communities on the B.C. coast gain $740 million in safety capacity as traffic rises. Pipeline construction contractors and steel suppliers gain only if projects reach final investment decisions, which the budget does not date.
What It Signals
Ottawa is shifting from owning energy infrastructure to selling down and steering it. Budget 2025 launched the Major Projects Office and referred LNG Canada Phase 2 and Pathways Plus (Budget 2025: Canada Strong, Chapter 1). Budget 2026 adds a national-interest listing for a new crude line, a Trans Mountain sale and a management entity to carry approved projects.
Federal finance is consolidating. The Canada Infrastructure Bank moves to the Finance Minister and absorbs the Indigenous Loan Guarantee Program, and the budget proposes merging the activities of Export Development Canada and the Business Development Bank (Chapter 6, s. 6.3). The Canada Strong Fund would co-invest in projects that get federal support. On transmission, the government is using the tax system and planned "new approaches to financing" with interested provinces, and the budget does not set up a capital fund.
Risks
Pacific Link has no proponent, cost or capital plan in the budget, so its national-interest listing is a regulatory head start. Bill C-39 is not yet law, and the one-year target depends on complete applications. Faster reviews raise the risk of court challenges over consultation, which the budget addresses only by saying section 35 rights are unchanged.
The Trans Mountain sale carries price and timing risk with no figures disclosed. The coastal safety money runs four years and stops at the end of 2030-31. Transmission projects need provincial agreement on cost allocation, which the $37 million study only informs.
Opportunities
Indigenous groups can seek financing for the Trans Mountain stake through the loan guarantee program and the First Nations Finance Authority. Transmission builders can claim the Clean Electricity credit on qualifying intra-provincial lines acquired from Budget Day. The retroactive interest exception covers regulated utilities' affiliate financing structures. Proponents can seek a Major Projects Office referral and Canada Strong Fund co-investment once its legislation passes. The Labrador Trough corridor needs new transmission lines in Newfoundland and Labrador and Quebec, where the Major Projects Office will coordinate and structure federal financing (Chapter 2, s. 2.1). The marine safety money from 2027-28 flows through Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Transport Canada, which may mean contracts for ports, terminals and marine service firms on the B.C. coast.
What's Missing
The budget is silent on federal capital for Pacific Link, a proponent or an in-service date. It gives no figure for Trans Mountain's value, the proceeds expected from the sale, or Trans Mountain Corporation's debt. It does not split the transmission part of the credit cost, and offers no federal commitment to interties beyond analysis.
What to Watch
- Closing terms for the Trans Mountain stake and any Pacific Link ownership offer.
- Bill C-39 in Parliament and the first Corridors of National Interest.
- Legislation moving the Canada Infrastructure Bank to Finance and consolidating the loan guarantee program.
- The fifth Indigenous loan guarantee, for an oil and gas project.
- Draft rules on eligible transmission property under the Clean Electricity credit.
- Major Projects Office decisions on the North Coast Transmission Line and the Transmission InterConnect Investment Strategy.
- The Canada-EU assessment of more LNG exports.
Related Analysis
Federal Budget 2026: Crown Corporations
Federal Budget 2026 and Crown corporations: a $25 billion Canada Strong Fund, a merged BDC and EDC, and $59.1 billion in Crown lending in 2026-27.
Federal Budget 2026: Expenditure Review Explained
Federal Budget 2026 finds $2,053 million in new savings that only fill a Budget 2025 placeholder, while Annex 1 trims forecast spending $12.4 billion a year.
Federal Budget 2026: Fiscal Deep Dive
Federal Budget 2026 fiscal deep dive: the deficit path, the operating anchor, debt charges and a $149.5 billion cash requirement in 2026-27.
Federal Budget 2026: Highlights
Federal Budget 2026 highlights ranked by money and by news value, led by the $36,055 million Productivity Mega Deduction and a merged BDC and EDC.