Federal Budget 2026: What It Means for Ontario
Federal Budget 2026 for Ontario: $6.1 billion for steel, autos and critical minerals announced before tabling, and nearly $12 billion for child care.
Support for Ontario's steel, automotive and critical minerals industries
$6.1 billion
Announced since the Spring Economic Update 2026
Canada-Ontario child care extension
Nearly $12 billion
March 31, 2027 to March 31, 2031
Indigenous loan guarantee, Darlington New Nuclear Project
About $715 million
Seven First Nations take a minority stake
LaSalle Causeway Bridge Replacement and Renewal Project
$261.8 million
Existing funding
Federally supported EV chargers in Ontario by 2028-29
23,802
Of 58,874 nationally, under existing funding
What This Means for Ontario
- Ontario's largest named sum, $6.1 billion for steel, autos and critical minerals, was announced before budget day and makes up 37% (calculated) of the $16.6 billion in tariff support announced since the Spring Economic Update 2026 (Chapter 2, s. 2.3).
- Ontario is the only province with a named child care extension, worth nearly $12 billion to March 31, 2031, while the national child care transfer drops by $2.8 billion (calculated) in 2028-29 (Chapter 3, s. 3.1, and Annex 1, Table A1.10).
- The Darlington New Nuclear Project gets no new budgetary money, since the about $715 million Indigenous loan guarantee is a contingent liability and the up to $2 billion Canada Growth Fund investment was announced in October 2025 (Chapter 1, s. 1.2, and Budget 2025, Chapter 1).
Budget 2026 treats Ontario as the centre of the tariff response and the nuclear build, and most of what it names for the province was decided before tabling. New money reaches Ontario mainly through national envelopes whose Ontario share the budget does not state.
The Region's Net Position
| Item | Amount | Regional share stated? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Support for Ontario's steel, automotive and critical minerals industries, including the Ring of Fire | $6.1 billion, announced since the Spring Economic Update 2026 | Yes. Ontario only, inside the tariff row below | Chapter 2, s. 2.3 |
| Supporting Canadian workers and businesses (tariff-response row) | $11,324 million net over five years, all previously announced | No | Chapter 2 cost table |
| Regional Tariff Response Initiative top-up | $1.5 billion | No. Delivered by regional development agencies | Chapter 2, s. 2.3 |
| Canada-Ontario early learning and child care extension | Nearly $12 billion, March 31, 2027 to March 31, 2031 | Yes | Chapter 3, s. 3.1 |
| Darlington Indigenous loan guarantee | About $715 million, contingent liability | Yes | Chapter 1, s. 1.2 |
| LaSalle Causeway, Kingston | $261.8 million of existing funding | Yes | Chapter 4, s. 4.2 |
| Nuclear Energy Strategy | $518.5 million over five years from 2027-28 | No. Figure 1.7 places 20 of 37 nuclear sites in Ontario (calculated) | Chapter 1, s. 1.2 |
| Cuts with a regional footprint | Not stated. Savings are not broken down by organization | No | Chapter 6 |
| Canada Health Transfer (national) | $57.4 billion in 2026-27 to $67.7 billion in 2030-31 | No. Per-province amounts are published separately | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
| Canada Social Transfer (national) | $17.9 billion to $20.2 billion | No | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
| Equalization (national) | $27.2 billion to $31.9 billion | Ontario receives a small Equalization payment under the current program (background) | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
| Health agreements (national) | $4.3 billion, falling to $2.5 billion in 2028-29 | No | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
| Canada-wide early learning and child care (national) | $11.0 billion in 2027-28, falling to $8.2 billion in 2028-29 | No | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
Ontario's main transfers move on formulas already in law. The Canada Health Transfer keeps its 5% growth guarantee until 2027-28 and then follows a three-year average of nominal GDP growth with a 3% floor (Annex 1). Ontario receives only a small Equalization payment under the current program (background), so the program's growth adds little to Ontario's treasury. The 2027-28 CHT and Equalization amounts are finalised in December 2026 (Annex 1, Table A1.10, note 2).
The sharpest change is in health agreements. They fall by $1.8 billion (calculated) a year from 2028-29 as federal home care, mental health and long-term care transfers expire. Budget 2026 adds $1.2 billion to extend the home care and mental health agreements only to March 31, 2028 (Chapter 3, s. 3.3). If no new deal follows, Ontario loses its share of that money in 2028-29.
The child care figures do not line up on the budget's own pages. Ontario's extension works out to about $3 billion a year (calculated). The national transfer falls from $11.0 billion to $8.2 billion in 2028-29 as a $5.4 billion two-year top-up ends, and the chapter's child care row shows dashes after 2027-28 (Annex 1 and Chapter 3 cost table). The budget does not show where Ontario's money is booked.
The budget gives no breakdown of spending review savings by department (Chapter 6). FedDev Ontario and FedNor are not named anywhere in the six chapters. Their visible role is delivering the Regional Tariff Response Initiative, whose Ontario examples appear in Figure 2.11.
Named Measures and Projects
| Measure or project | Where | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Steel, automotive and critical minerals support. The province's main tariff money, with the Ring of Fire's share not stated | Ontario, Ring of Fire | $6.1 billion | Chapter 2, s. 2.3 |
| Darlington Indigenous loan guarantee. Seven Williams Treaties First Nations buy a minority stake, with Ontario's Indigenous Opportunities Financing Program | Darlington | About $715 million | Chapter 1, s. 1.2; Chapter 2, s. 2.1 |
| Earlier nuclear financing. Recapped as already taken | Darlington | Up to $2 billion Canada Growth Fund; $970 million Canada Infrastructure Bank | Chapter 1, s. 1.2 |
| Deep Geological Repository. Consultations on a national-interest listing began in July 2026 | Ignace (Figure 1.7) | Funded by used-fuel owners | Chapter 2, s. 2.1 |
| Canada Nickel's Crawford Project, in the Major Projects Office portfolio. Listed with no update | Timmins | No amount | Chapter 2, Figure 2.8; SEU 2026, Chapter 1 |
| Alto High-Speed Rail. New legislation to streamline expropriation and allow early preconstruction | Ontario-Québec Corridor | No amount | Annex 3 |
| Regional Tariff Response Initiative examples. Kumi Canada Corporation (auto parts) and Pilot Diamond Ltd. (mining technology) | Southern and Northern Ontario | $9,375,000 and $969,000 | Chapter 2, Figure 2.11 |
| Armoured Combat Support Vehicles. 190 more vehicles built at GDLS-Canada | London | Nearly $2 billion, announced June 2026 | Chapter 5, s. 5.1 |
| Defence industrial base. IMT Precision selected for artillery manufacturing, plus shells, rifles, aircraft and logistics vehicles in Figure 5.1 | Ontario | No amount stated | Chapter 5, s. 5.1 |
| VIA Rail fleet renewal†. Cars manufactured in Thunder Bay | Thunder Bay | More than $6.6 billion announced; $83 million booked over five years | Chapter 4, s. 4.2; Annex 1, Table A1.19 |
| LaSalle Causeway replacement. Permanent crossing after the 2024 bridge failure | Kingston | $261.8 million, existing funding | Chapter 4, s. 4.2 |
| Federal bridges consolidation. Four international bridges and the Peace Bridge move to the Minister of Housing and Infrastructure | Sault Ste. Marie, Point Edward, Lansdowne, Cornwall, Fort Erie | No cost | Chapter 6, s. 6.4, Figure 6.1 |
| Canada Infrastructure Bank district energy. Cited as an existing investment | Toronto and Mississauga | $600 million | Chapter 3, s. 3.2 |
| Build Communities Strong Fund projects. Seven named, including the York University School of Medicine | Barrie, London, Sarnia, North Bay, Nepean, Toronto, Vaughan | No amounts | Chapter 3, s. 3.2 |
| Build Canada Homes. Ojistoh House, 12 Indigenous-led transitional supportive units | Brantford | Not stated in text | Chapter 3, Figure 3.5 |
| Wine Sector Support Program. Renewed from 2027-28 | Niagara, among four regions | $176.9 million over three years, national | Chapter 2, s. 2.3 |
| Securities passport. Ontario plans to join | Ontario | No federal cost | Chapter 2, s. 2.4 |
| Canada Investment Summit. First summit held in Toronto, Invest in Canada expanded | Toronto | $181.4 million over four years | Chapter 1, s. 1.1 |
| Canadian Earthquake Insurance Facility. Backstop for insurers after an extreme quake | Ottawa to Québec City region | Up to $50 billion in emergency funding; -$154 million net | Chapter 5, s. 5.4 |
| Steel tariff-rate quota extension† | National, steel importers | -$317 million | Annex 1, Table A1.19 |
| Ādisōke†. Joint Ottawa Public Library and Library and Archives Canada building | Ottawa | $3 million | Annex 1, Table A1.19 |
† Earlier decision booked in Budget 2026, Annex 1 policy-actions table, not a new Budget 2026 measure.
A negative figure means offsets or revenue exceed the gross cost, a net gain to the budgetary balance.
None of the three Ontario projects in the Major Projects Office list carries a new federal dollar figure in Budget 2026. Alto's acceleration law was also promised in Budget 2025, which proposed legislation "to accelerate the development of Alto high-speed rail" (Budget 2025, Annex 5). It returns this year with expropriation powers added.
Sector Exposure
Steel and aluminum. Ontario's steel industry is named first in the $6.1 billion package. Canada raised counter-tariffs on most U.S. steel and aluminum products on September 8, 2026, and the steel tariff-rate quota extension books $317 million in surtax revenue (Annex 1). Regional development agencies put more than $340 million into steel against a $150 million target (Chapter 2, s. 2.3). See steel and aluminum.
Automotive. The budget describes a sector gaining momentum while still adjusting. "Exports of vehicles assembled in Canada have picked up after factory retooling earlier this year. Production is expected to increase modestly in 2027 amid mixed market conditions and ongoing adjustment pressures" (Overview). Ontario has 23,802 of the 58,874 federally supported EV chargers in operation or planned by 2028-29, or 40% (calculated), before the $587 million renewal (Chapter 1, Figure 1.9). See automotive.
Critical minerals. The Ring of Fire is named inside the $6.1 billion (Chapter 2, s. 2.3). It also appears in the budget's October 21 timeline entry for an $8.7 billion joint investment with Ontario. The mineral exploration tax credits are extended to March 31, 2032, which suggests steady support for exploration in Northern Ontario (Chapter 1, s. 1.3). See critical minerals.
Nuclear and electricity. Twenty of the 37 sites on the budget's nuclear map are in Ontario (calculated), so much of the $518.5 million Nuclear Energy Strategy money is likely to be spent there (interpretation). The budget proposes to extend the Clean Electricity tax credit to intra-provincial lines at 500 kV and above in Ontario (Tax Measures: Supplementary Information). See electricity and nuclear.
Finance and technology. Toronto's financial sector gets the securities passport and the Investment Summit. The budget's capital gains example is an Ontario founder, who keeps 96.0% of a $15 million gain against 70.7% before (Chapter 1, s. 1.1). Toronto-based Cohere (background) gets an equity commitment of up to $1.6 billion (Chapter 5, s. 5.2). See tax measures and technology and AI.
Defence. London's armoured-vehicle line is the largest named Ontario defence order, at nearly $2 billion. See defence industry.
Wine. Renewed money for Niagara wineries starts in 2027-28, and the program gets no new money in 2026-27 (Chapter 2 cost table). See agriculture and agri-food.
Asked For vs. Delivered
Asks compiled by Stephen Taylor's AI Public Affairs Toolset, September 15 to November 5, 2026.
Both pre-budget expectations for Ontario came true, and both were announced before budget day. The nurses' housing ask was met through national programs, and their other social-spending ask got a partial answer. Nothing is aimed at Ontario.
Federal-Provincial Friction Points
Housing operations. Ottawa pays to build supportive and transitional housing, and "provincial and territorial partners will be expected to fund ongoing operations and wraparound services" (Chapter 3, s. 3.2). The government will rework bilateral housing agreements before the Spring Economic Update 2027. The budget does not give Ontario's position on who pays the operating bill.
Health care. The one-year health agreement extension is framed as relief while governments hold "a structured dialogue on the long-term productivity and sustainability of health care systems" (Chapter 3, s. 3.3). That sets up a negotiation before the money ends in March 2028.
Home prices. The budget credits "a new partnership with Ontario" with cutting the cost of a home "by up to $200,000" (Chapter 3, s. 3.2). That partnership's HST relief on new homes covers purchase agreements signed by March 31, 2027 (Spring Economic Update 2026, Chapter 2). Budget 2026 says nothing about extending it.
Nuclear waste. Ottawa began consultations with the Government of Ontario on listing the Deep Geological Repository as a project of national interest under the Building Canada Act (Chapter 2, s. 2.1). The budget does not give Ontario's position on the listing.
Insurance and cannabis. The earthquake facility starts with federally regulated insurers, and Ottawa will work with provinces "to extend access to provincially regulated insurers" (Chapter 5, s. 5.4). Ontario sits outside the default common cannabis stamp group and is invited to opt in by January 31, 2027 (Chapter 6, s. 6.1). Its cannabis tax agreement already adjusts its revenue share for sales tax differences (Tax Measures: Supplementary Information).
What's Missing
The budget is silent on how much of the $6.1 billion goes to the Ring of Fire, and on roads, timelines or Indigenous partnerships for it.
It gives no federal dollar figure for Alto High-Speed Rail or Canada Nickel's Crawford Project.
It names no Ontario transit project. The Build Communities Strong Fund lists transit among its purposes, and its seven Ontario projects are community centres, a library, a park, a training centre and a medical school (Chapter 3, s. 3.2).
The nurses also asked that major project decisions assess cumulative health and climate impacts and uphold free, prior and informed consent (RNAO, release, Nov 3). The budget is silent on that, and its Alto bill would speed expropriation.
It does not say how many federal jobs in Ontario the spending review removes. Without a breakdown by organization, the effect on federal offices in Toronto, Kingston or Thunder Bay cannot be measured.
What to Watch
| Date | Decision point |
|---|---|
| December 2026 | 2027-28 Canada Health Transfer and Equalization amounts finalised |
| January 31, 2027 | Deadline for provinces to opt into the common cannabis excise stamp |
| Early 2027 | Details of the renewed Reaching Home program, and the grocery supplement paid out |
| March 31, 2027 | Ontario's HST relief window for new homes closes, and the child care extension starts |
| 2027-28 | Nuclear Energy Strategy, EV charger and wine program money begins |
| Spring Economic Update 2027 | Reworked bilateral housing agreements |
| January 1, 2028 | Higher tax instalment thresholds of $7,500 take effect |
| March 31, 2028 | Home care and mental health agreements expire |
| Legislation listed in Annex 3 (no date given) | Alto expropriation powers and the Canadian Earthquake Insurance Facility |
| No date given | Decision on the Deep Geological Repository's national-interest listing |