Federal Budget 2026: What It Means for Saskatchewan & Manitoba
Federal Budget 2026 for Saskatchewan and Manitoba: over $1 billion in Build Canada Homes capital for Winnipeg, and no new money for Churchill or canola.
New Build Canada Homes capital for Winnipeg
Over $1 billion
No cost-table row of its own
Supportive housing capital in Winnipeg
Up to $800 million
2,000 transitional and permanent supportive units
Bell AI Fabric hub in Saskatchewan
$52.5 billion
Private investment, no federal funding attached
Remote Passenger Rail Program renewal
$35.1 million
2027-28 only, Manitoba, Québec, and Newfoundland and Labrador
RCMP Heritage Centre, Regina
$3 million a year
Up to 2029-30, as it becomes a national museum
What This Means for Saskatchewan & Manitoba
- Manitoba's one large new item is housing, over $1 billion in new Build Canada Homes capital for Winnipeg, including up to $800 million for 2,000 supportive units, or about $400,000 a unit (calculated).
- Saskatchewan's largest figure in the budget is private money, Bell's $52.5 billion AI hub, and no line in the budget's cost tables names Saskatchewan.
- The two provinces hold two of the Major Projects Office's 28 initiatives, McIlvenna Bay and the Port of Churchill Plus, both named in Budget 2025, and this budget attaches no federal dollar figure to either.
Verdict. Winnipeg gets a large housing commitment and Regina gets a national museum. The budget adds almost nothing for the region's grain, canola, potash and uranium exports.
The Region's Net Position
Measure amounts are in millions of dollars over 2026-27 to 2030-31 unless noted. Transfers are national totals in billions of dollars from Annex 1, Table A1.10.
| Item | Amount | Regional share stated? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| New housing partnership with Winnipeg | Over $1 billion in new capital, including up to $800 million for 2,000 units | Yes, Winnipeg. No cost-table row | Budget 2026, Chapter 3, s. 3.2 |
| Remote Passenger Rail Program renewal | $35.1 million in 2027-28, inside a $1,348 million ferry and rail row | Shared by Manitoba, Québec, and Newfoundland and Labrador. Split not stated | Chapter 4, s. 4.2 |
| RCMP Heritage Centre, Regina | $3 million a year up to 2029-30 | Yes. Not in any cost-table row | Chapter 4, s. 4.1. Annex 3 |
| Canada Infrastructure Bank, Brandon water and wastewater | $42.8 million, existing repayable financing | Yes | Chapter 3, s. 3.2 |
| Regional Tariff Response Initiative top-up | $1.5 billion, national. Examples: Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership, $5,100,000. Premium Products Inc., $516,000 | Not stated | Chapter 2, s. 2.3, Figure 2.11 |
| Helium exploration and development expenses | $54 million, 2027-28 to 2030-31 | Not stated | Tax Measures: Supplementary Information |
| Clean Electricity and Clean Technology ITCs extension | $2,420 million, national | Not stated | Tax Measures: Supplementary Information |
| Spending review reductions | No departmental breakdown published | Not stated | Chapter 6, s. 6.3 |
| Canada Health Transfer | $57.4 billion (2026-27) to $67.7 billion (2030-31) | Per-province amounts published separately | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
| Equalization | $27.2 billion (2026-27) to $31.9 billion (2030-31) | Manitoba receives it and Saskatchewan does not under the current program (background) | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
| Health agreements with provinces and territories | $4.3 billion to 2027-28, then $2.5 billion from 2028-29 | Not stated | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
| Canada-wide early learning and child care | $11.0 billion (2027-28) to $8.2 billion (2028-29) | Not stated | Annex 1, Table A1.10 |
The Winnipeg money is the only large figure on this page, and it has no row in the cost tables. The chapter does not say which Build Canada Homes line pays for it, or over how many years. If the money is booked as capital, then the accrual tables would show only a fraction of it in any year.
The two provinces split differently on transfers. Equalization grows by $4.7 billion over the horizon (calculated), and Annex 1 credits higher nominal GDP for the upward revision since the spring. Manitoba shares in that growth as a recipient (background). Saskatchewan, like Alberta, does not. Per-province 2027-28 amounts for the Canada Health Transfer and Equalization will be finalised in December 2026.
Named Measures and Projects
| Measure or project | Where | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Housing partnership and Winnipeg Centre for Mental Health and Addictions | Winnipeg | Over $1 billion capital | Chapter 3, s. 3.2 |
| Naawi-Oodena, Build Canada Homes | Winnipeg | 320 mixed-market homes, no dollar amount in the text | Chapter 3, Figure 3.5 |
| Canada Infrastructure Bank water and wastewater loan | Brandon | $42.8 million, room for about 2,300 homes | Chapter 3, s. 3.2 |
| Build Communities Strong Fund projects | Beauval and Regina, Saskatchewan. Tyndall Park Community Centre and Rainbow Resource Centre, Winnipeg | No amounts | Chapter 3, s. 3.2 |
| RCMP Heritage Centre becomes a national museum | Regina | $3 million a year up to 2029-30 | Chapter 4, s. 4.1. Annex 3 |
| Bell AI Fabric hub, 1.2 gigawatts | Saskatchewan | $52.5 billion private, more than 4,500 jobs | Chapter 1, s. 1.1 |
| McIlvenna Bay Project | Saskatchewan | No federal cost line | Chapter 2, Figure 2.8 |
| Port of Churchill Plus | Churchill, Manitoba | No federal cost line | Chapter 2, Figure 2.8 |
| Domestic trade missions with PrairiesCan | Prairie businesses, including to the Port of Churchill | No cost line | Chapter 2, s. 2.4 |
| Remote Passenger Rail Program | Manitoba, Québec, and Newfoundland and Labrador | $35.1 million in 2027-28 | Chapter 4, s. 4.2 |
| Grocery property controls | Manitoba named as the model | No cost line | Chapter 1, s. 1.5 |
| Interprovincial food trade | Lloydminster | Regulatory | Chapter 2, s. 2.4 |
| Regional Tariff Response Initiative examples | Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership. Premium Products Inc., flax processing, Manitoba | $5,100,000 and $516,000 | Chapter 2, Figure 2.11 |
The Winnipeg partnership is new. Budget 2025 and the Spring Economic Update 2026 do not mention it. It joins acute and outpatient care with permanent supportive and transitional housing, and the budget cites Toronto's Dunn House as the model.
The Brandon loan and the Build Canada Homes project at Naawi-Oodena are existing investments shown as examples. Neither adds money in this budget.
The RCMP Heritage Centre was already on Budget 2025's list of community projects. The national museum designation is new and needs an amendment to the Museums Act (Budget 2026, Annex 3). The budget does not say which cost line carries the $3 million a year.
McIlvenna Bay and the Port of Churchill Plus were both on the Major Projects Office list in Budget 2025. Budget 2025 described Churchill as an upgraded port with an all-weather road, an upgraded rail line, an energy corridor and icebreaking. Budget 2026 prints only the name. In the same chapter, B.C.'s Red Chris Mine extension shows a $500 million federal contribution and the Mackenzie Valley Highway is fully funded at $3,100 million over five years.
The budget gives the Remote Passenger Rail Program $35.1 million for 2027-28 alone and states no amount for later years.
Sector Exposure
Agriculture. The budget does not describe the tariff exposure of Prairie farm exports. Its examples are small. The Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership gets $5.1 million to "help Prairie small- and medium-sized businesses access new domestic and international markets," and a Manitoba flax processor gets $516,000 (Chapter 2, Figure 2.11). The farm rollover to nieces and nephews ($65 million) and the Productivity Mega Deduction help farms that invest. Agriculture analysis.
Mining. McIlvenna Bay is a copper project (background). The overview says "aluminum and copper producers have benefited from tighter global supply conditions." The mineral exploration tax credits are extended to March 31, 2032, at $956 million over five years. Potash appears only in the Budget in Brief, which ranks Canada first in world production. Uranium appears as mine sites on a nuclear map, among them McArthur River, Cigar Lake and McClean Lake. The Building Canada Strong Act would make the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission the single lead regulator for nuclear and uranium projects (Chapter 6, s. 6.2). Mining analysis.
Electricity and nuclear. The Clean Electricity credit opens to intra-provincial lines of 230 kilovolts or more in Saskatchewan and 500 kilovolts in Manitoba. The lower Saskatchewan threshold suggests the credit can reach most of that province's backbone lines. The Nuclear Energy Strategy row, $419 million net, names no Saskatchewan or Manitoba project. Whiteshell Laboratories in Manitoba appears on the same map. Electricity analysis.
Oil and gas. Saskatchewan producers get the faster write-off for development expense under the Productivity Mega Deduction, from 30% to 100%. Helium gets the same treatment as oil and gas from Budget Day. Helium exploration is concentrated in Saskatchewan and Alberta (background). Oil and gas analysis.
Technology and data centres. The Bell hub is a provincial and private announcement the budget cites. It carries no federal money. Technology analysis.
Housing. Winnipeg is the region's main beneficiary, and Brandon is the CIB example. Housing analysis.
Asked For vs. Delivered
The region's asks were mostly made jointly with other provinces, and the budget answered them with the minimum. The health extension was announced on October 14, just before the ministers met in Winnipeg, and the budget books that one year. Manitoba's Indian Act call was a legislative request made at the First Nations-First Ministers' meeting. The budget's nearest item is $119 million over three years for modern treaty and self-government negotiations.
Asks compiled by Stephen Taylor's AI Public Affairs Toolset, September 15 to November 5, 2026.
Federal-Provincial Friction Points
Housing operations. The Winnipeg partnership is with Manitoba, and the budget sets terms for every province: "As we increase capital investments, provinces and territories will be expected to strengthen funding for operations, health care, and wraparound supports, and to demonstrate progress against shared outcomes" (Chapter 3, s. 3.2). This suggests Ottawa pays to build the Winnipeg units and Manitoba pays to run them. Housing agreements are to be reworked "ahead of the Spring Economic Update 2027."
Grocery property controls. The government "will work with provinces and territories" to end property controls that restrict grocery competition, building on Manitoba's model (Chapter 1, s. 1.5). Saskatchewan has no stated role. The budget does not say whether it will follow Manitoba.
Clean electricity. The budget funds equivalency agreements "with provinces and territories where appropriate" (Chapter 1, s. 1.2). Saskatchewan's grid relies more on fossil fuels than Manitoba's hydro system (background), so the rewrite matters more to Regina. The planned update to the industrial carbon pricing benchmark has no date.
Cannabis. Saskatchewan "would be invited to adopt the common stamp" by January 31, 2027 (Chapter 6, s. 6.1). Manitoba is the only jurisdiction outside the Coordinated Cannabis Taxation Agreements (Tax Measures: Supplementary Information).
Health. The Canada Health Transfer floor drops from 5% to 3% after 2027-28, and the targeted health agreements fall from $4.3 billion to $2.5 billion nationally in 2028-29.
What's Missing
The budget is silent on canola. Budget 2025 reported Chinese tariffs of 76% on Canadian canola seed and 100% on canola oil and oilcake. Budget 2025 raised the interest-free Advance Payments Program limit to $500,000 for canola advances for the 2025 and 2026 program years. Budget 2026 does not say whether the tariffs still apply or whether the higher limit continues.
Budget 2025 listed potash among goods in high global demand. Budget 2026 mentions it only as a world production ranking in the Budget in Brief. It names no AgriStability change after Budget 2025's one-year $109.2 million increase in 2025-26.
The Port of Churchill Plus gets no money, timeline or Indigenous ownership update. The budget reports the $1 billion Arctic Infrastructure Fund launched and does not name Churchill. Its only other Churchill reference is a trade mission.
The budget is silent on Winnipeg and Regina transit, and on any Manitoba Hydro or SaskPower intertie project. The $37 million for intertie cost-benefit studies is national.
What to Watch
| Date | Decision point |
|---|---|
| November 5, 2026 | Helium expenses qualify as exploration and development expense from Budget Day |
| December 2026 | Canada Health Transfer, Equalization and Territorial Formula Financing amounts for 2027-28 finalised |
| January 31, 2027 | Deadline for Saskatchewan to say whether it adopts the common cannabis stamp. Full federal fuel excise relief also ends with January |
| April 1, 2027 | Federal fuel excise tax returns to full rates |
| Spring Economic Update 2027 | Reworked bilateral housing agreements, including operating expectations |
| 2027-28 | The one-year Remote Passenger Rail Program renewal runs out |
| March 31, 2028 | Extended mental health, addictions and home care agreements expire |
| 2029-30 | Last year of the RCMP Heritage Centre's $3 million a year |
| Budget Implementation Act | Museums Act amendment to make the RCMP Heritage Centre a national museum |
| No date | Winnipeg partnership schedule, Clean Electricity Regulations consultation, and any federal money for the Port of Churchill Plus |